Part 4 of 5 I’m a daughter of the King!!

The final word beauty in two parts:

Part ABeauty in my salvation 

(For my complete salvation testimony, please see the separate page on my blog.)

This great exchange that took place at salvation will hopefully expand more with each post, but in short, the concept can be found in Isaiah 61: 1-3

The Spirit of the Lord GOD is upon me,
because the LORD has anointed me
to bring good news to the poor;
he has sent me




Photo by Sebastian Beck on Pexels.com

to bind up the brokenhearted

to proclaim liberty to the captives,
and the opening of the prison to those who are bound…

to comfort all who mourn;
to grant to those who mourn in Zion

to give them a beautiful headdress instead of ashes,

the oil of gladness instead of mourning,

the garment of praise instead of a faint spirit;


that they may be called oaks of righteousness,
the planting of the LORD, that he may be glorified.

The good news is that I recognized my sin the way God saw it back in 1985 and believed that what Jesus did for me on the cross was able to remove the awful stain on my life, giving me forgiveness by faith (not anything that I could earn): He exchanged HIS beauty for MY ashes of brokenheartedness, captivity, mourning, faint-spiritedness….. that’s what the prison of sin produces! What a wonderful exchange!

Song: His Robes for Mine

(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zSxqn_oSQow)

Text by Chris Anderson; Tune by Greg Habegger; Arr. by Dan Forrest

His robes for mine: O wonderful exchange!
Clothed in my sin, Christ suffered ‘neath God’s rage.
Draped in His righteousness, I’m justified.
In Christ I live, for in my place He died.

Chorus:
I cling to Christ, and marvel at the cost:
Jesus forsaken, God estranged from God.
Bought by such love, my life is not my own.
My praise-my all-shall be for Christ alone.

His robes for mine: what cause have I for dread?
God’s daunting Law Christ mastered in my stead.
Faultless I stand with righteous works not mine,
Saved by my Lord’s vicarious death and life.

His robes for mine: God’s justice is appeased.
Jesus is crushed, and thus the Father’s pleased.
Christ drank God’s wrath on sin, then cried “‘Tis done!”
Sin’s wage is paid; propitiation won.

His robes for mine: such anguish none can know.
Christ, God’s beloved, condemned as though His foe.
He, as though I, accursed and left alone;
I, as though He, embraced and welcomed home!

Copyright 2013 ChurchWorksMedia.com. All rights reserved.

Isaiah 61 has been a favorite of mine for years. In the KJV the phrase is “beauty for ashes.” Interestingly in the ESV version, it’s a beautiful headdress.  Like a crown the daughter of a King would wear! Anything beautiful about me (and it does originate of HIS making- I can take NO credit) gives Him glory!!

I am leaving this post purposely short so that you can read my salvation testimony on the blog.  Again, please feel free to have a conversation with me about anything you read there. Next time, Part B: beauty in my sanctification.

Until then,

I am your fuzzybunny
(Laura)

Leave a comment